jump to navigation

Chapter 8: The Professor Explains August 16, 2007

Posted by Ashleigh in The Man Who Was Thursday by GK Chesterton.
trackback

1. What did you think when the Professor revealed that he too is a policeman?

2. Syme tells the Professor, “Fight the thing that you fear.” What are your thoughts on this statement?

3. The Professor tells Syme, “You think it is possible to pull down the President. I know it is impossible, and I am going to try it.” What does this tell us about the Professor’s character that he’s willing to fight for what is right even though he believes he’ll lose the battle?

4. Share your thoughts on the Professor’s story of why he first disguised himself as Professor de Worms.

5. Anything that stood out to you in this chapter?

Comments»

1. Michelle - August 17, 2007

I’ve nothing deep to contribute, only Woah. This story sure is taking quite a few twists and turns.

2. Danielle - August 21, 2007

1. I didn’t actually believe the Professor when he revealed he was a policeman. If I’d been Syme, I’d have been afraid it was a set up! But it seems like it wasn’t.

2. I think that’s a good mentality to have. Otherwise, you remain in bondage to your fears.

3. Ashleigh - August 21, 2007

Danielle, I agree. I’ve heard it said that sometimes we have to do things afraid. And I think in doing things even when we are fearful, we are fighting against that fear and on our way to overcoming it.

On another note, as someone who spent a lot of time in theater in undergrad, I loved the story the Professor told of how he came to imitate Professor de Worms. I thought it was really funny how everyone believed he was the real thing and called the true Professor a phony!

4. Ashleigh - August 22, 2007

I found that my respect for the Professor grew when he said:

“Young man … I am amused to observe that you think I am a coward. As to that I will say only one word, and that shall be entirely in the manner of your own philosophical rhetoric. You think it is possible to pull down the President. I know that it is impossible, and I am going to try it.”

This showed me that the Professor truly is a brave and courageous man that he’s willing to fight a battle he believes is already lost in order to stand against evil. Although, perhaps some would say he’s a fool. What’d you guys think?

5. bethany3boys - August 23, 2007

Danielle, I too thought the Professor was scamming Syme. Shows my doubt, I am always thinking the worst or not trusting in those types of situations.


Leave a Reply

