jump to navigation

Book Selection for 2007-2008 August 3, 2007

Posted by Han in Book Club Books.
trackback

So this year wraps up with August. I was thinking for this next year instead of picking all the books out in advance picking out one or two at a time and those of us present or into the book or blog at the moment can vote suggest etc and decide that way. Then I will add the selections.

Would love to hear any ideas. Here are some books I was interested in reading click on the book and it will take you to AMAZON.

promise.jpg

infidel.jpg

better.jpg

janeausten.jpg

What do you have on your reading list???

Comments»

1. Ashleigh - August 3, 2007

My reading list includes:

C.S. Lewis, “Surprised by Joy”
Charles Dickens, “Bleak House”
J.R. Tolkien, “Lord of the Rings”
Lori Smith, “A Walk with Jane Austen”

There may have been a couple others, but I can’t think of them right now. If I do, I’ll add them.

2. Danielle - August 4, 2007

I’ve been wanting to read “Bleak House” and Lori Smith’s book looks interesting. I’ve already read “Surprised by Joy” and it was tough!! I think because it focused so much on Lewis’ interior life in such detail. I’ve been wanting to read some Flannery O’Connor and “The Great Gatsby” too.

3. Michelle - August 5, 2007

I like your list Bethany. Ditto The Great Gatsby.
I recently added Huck Finn, Helen Keller, & Little Women to my list. Again with the classics… must be the time of the year or something.

4. Danielle - August 6, 2007

Oh I just thought of something else I’d like to read, “Wives and Daughters” by Gaskell.

5. Ashleigh - August 8, 2007

I’d also like to read “Manalive” by G.K. Chesterton. I saw a short film in grad school based on a part of the book and it looks like a fun read.

6. Michelle - August 9, 2007

I’ve heard good things about Manalive.

On the non-fiction side, I would like to read more by Detrich Bonhoeffer… or one of Nelson Mandella’s Biographies…. or a bio on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr (I’ve heard the ones by Branch are long but good).

7. Bethany - August 16, 2007
8. Michelle - August 16, 2007

Yeah actually your brother – Josh- recommended that one to me.

9. Jaree - August 29, 2007

Hi Ladies,
I am thinking about the following …
A Dog Year by Jon Katz
The Whistling Season by Ivan Doig
The World Without Us by Alan Weisman
Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier

I got behind this year, but I am working on catching back up!!
-Jaree

10. Jaree - September 11, 2007

One more that Beth asked me to add …

Merle’s Door by Ted Kerasote

I started reading it this week and if you like dogs, this is a must read!

11. samanthajewett - September 24, 2007

I’ve heard great reviews of Kite Runner.


Leave a Reply

