jump to navigation

Extension and Little Break??? April 3, 2007

Posted by Han in Book Club Books, Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert.
trackback

Hey gals. We are still trying to wrap up this last book Madame Bovary. It seems like we have lost some steam so I was wondering if we took the month of April to Wrap up Madame Bovary and have a breather and then start the next selection Snowflower and The Secret Fan May 1st if that would help. Give everyone time to catch up? I know it is a busy time of year with many traveling and school wrapping up. If the majority want to keep moving ahead we can wrap up this last book this week and jump in Monday on the new book. Please comment and let me know.

Comments»

1. Michelle - April 3, 2007

Another option might be to keep two books going at the same time. That way if people haven’t started Madame Bovary yet, they can start Snowflower. Or, if people finished Madame Bovary and were just waiting for more questions, they don’t have a lull. Just a thought. I am open to whatever the majority wants. πŸ™‚

2. heather - April 3, 2007

Is Anne ready to start leading Snowflower? I say go for it! Those who didn’t read/already finished Bovary can go ahead, and the rest of us can catch up with them next week.

I still have about 40 pages to go in Bovary, and then I’ll be ready to jump into the next one. Maybe we could get the final posts/questions for Madame Bovary posted and discussed this week, then officially jump into Snowflower with everyone else next week — if Anne’s ready!

Honestly, I’m happy to do whatever, but I think I’d prefer not to take a break at this point. I don’t want to lose my momentum! πŸ™‚ But, as Michelle said, I’ll go with the majority!

3. Nicole - April 3, 2007

I’m fine with whatever, but if I had to choose, I’d say let’s keep the Madame Bovary going, but start the other one as well. But I would definitely like to keep Madame going…I can’t wait to discuss it!

4. bethany3boys - April 3, 2007

Okay now WordPress is eating my comments. Funny. I commented after you had Michelle…Oh well. Great idea to keep both going that seems to be the majority…or at least those of us that are still on here. HEE HEE. I will see what tomorrow brings. I have sent an email to Karen and Anne to see if that is okay with them.

5. Ashleigh - April 4, 2007

Whatever everyone else wants to do is fine. I’m going to have to sit out April and May regardless because it’s busy proofreading season for me.

6. bethany3boys - April 5, 2007

Hey gals I still haven’t heard back from the two leads. I have been super busy here trying to catch up from vacation and being sick. I have not started the next book yet but will put up a generic chapter thing for both Bovary and Snowflower so those of you that want to jump in an start discussing can. Anne and Karen feel free to edit the posts and add your questions when you want. Just thought I would get the post up there for those that want to go ahead to.

7. Michelle - April 5, 2007

Thanks for all your work Bethany. I know we all appreciate having this forum to discuss books with friends and that it wouldn’t run nearly as smooth as it does with lots of effort from you! πŸ™‚

8. bethany3boys - April 5, 2007

Thanks Michelle!!! πŸ™‚ You are too sweet.

9. Jaree - April 10, 2007

I am struggling with Madame Bovary, but continuing to plow through. I am kind of looking forward to a new book, so I am all for moving on with both … thanks, Bethany!!

10. anneswanson - April 11, 2007

I echo michelles above comments…I hope to pose some questions for discussion on Snowflower ASAP~ πŸ™‚

11. amyb - April 23, 2007

I know I’m a bit late in posting on this, but Bethany, thanks for doing all this…even though I don’t post much (hoping to change that!), I am enjoying going through all the books together!


Leave a Reply

