jump to navigation

Countdown 4 days left August 28, 2006

Posted by Han in Leap of Faith by Queen Noor, Uncategorized.
trackback

Hope you all have your first book and are ready to start.  I know a few of you have already started reading.  😉

Just want to let you all know as you begin the book that I am sure there will be some that don’t agree with everything written in the book etc etc.  This is my first time reading the book but part of the reason I chose this particular book was to have a better WORLD view.  To understand how someone submersed in another culture and religion different from my own views the world politics and history.  I think this book will be very interesting in light of our current events.  I think it will give us a better understanding of what others believe and why and hopefully make us a better person in the process.  So I hope you enjoy.  On September 1st I will go ahead and put a post up for the first few chapters and you all can start sharing and interacting there as soon as you have read a little.

Comments»

1. anneswanson - August 29, 2006

Cannot wait! I just recieved my crisp new book in the mail today! Smells good !:)

2. Ashleigh - August 31, 2006

Bethany, I agree that the book will give us insight into other worldviews, which is a good thing. It helps “expand” our worlds. I’m wondering though (since I’ve started reading the book), will we be looking at the history in the book and discuss how some of it is subjective in the sense that it is slanted in such a way (pro-Palestian and anti-Israeli) that certain information is not included in order to create symphathy for a particular people group?

3. bethany3boys - August 31, 2006

Yes that is what it is all about likes, dislikes, point of view, how it makes you feel etc etc. I think we should be able to read things we don’t agree with and then be able to hash out the why. There was a line in the book I found very interesting in terms of how the King viewed a certain thing that happens and how step it back in history and it could easily be turned the other way. I don’t want to go into detail yet but September 1 I will put up the section on the first few chapters so that we can start without worry of someone not at that point reading a comment that will ruin something for them. I look forward to having interaction on all the books on the list.


Leave a Reply

