jump to navigation

Book Club A Work In Progress August 2, 2006

Posted by Han in Book Circle Set Up, Book Club Books.
trackback

Okay from the feedback I am getting I think what we will do is have everyone pick a book and then we will all read and discuss at the same time. That way unless it is your month if you need to take a break you can. Also we can be following along together and reacting to the book together online. Lots more fun. Plus this will be less work on the setup for me. If some of you members already have book ideas let me know and I can start working on that list. This will also allow new people to jump in during the middle of the club. Advantage of being one of the first memebers is you get to pick a book.

Comments»

1. Jaree - August 2, 2006

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards; Wicked by Gregory McGuire; Tending Roses by Lisa Wingate

2. Michelle - August 2, 2006

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay; Don Quixoe by Cervantes; The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck; The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain; Utopia by Thomas More; Great Expectations by Charles Dickens…. All just suggestions.

3. Danielle - August 2, 2006

That sounds good, Bethany. I think it’ll be easier to all read it at the same time. That way, no plot secrets get spoiled for anyone! Also, as you said, if someone needs a break, that’s fine.

4. anne - August 2, 2006

I will get back to you with some ideas…The Memory Keepers Daughter by Kim Edwards though looks good…plus I just bought it 🙂

5. bethany3boys - August 2, 2006

Oh thanks for the ideas. I will try to start getting a list together. I was looking at the Memory Keepers Daughter too. Funny. Keep the suggestions comming then I will start the list. I was thinking too for those that want to read at a slower pace if I can get the list up they could start on one lower down so that they can be active in the discussion part.

6. anne - August 2, 2006

ok a few more suggestions…I was just on Amazon reading about a few more books.
Snowflower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See
Night by Elie Wiesel
The Glass Castle by Jeanette Wells

7. bethany3boys - August 2, 2006

Anne…I saw Snowflower and the Secret Fan too and thought it looked good and Night does also. And Jaree Tending Roses sounds incredible too!!! Michelle the Power of One looks really good and I am open to any Steinbeck. I was also thinking Huck Finn would be fun to read again. I will start compiling a list. We might have to each narrow down to one but if there are others who are having a hard time picking something then we can add in extra suggestions. This is going to be fun!!!

8. Erica - March 19, 2007

Another great book is Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones and Lucky. I also really enjoyed Hannibal Rising; I haven’t seen the movie, but the book was amazing! The Memory Keeper’s Daughter was an incredible book, definitely worth the money and time.


Leave a Reply

